Elder Scrolls Online Zone Levels

Q: Which level are all the zones in Elder Scrolls Online? Can you give a breakdown?

Zones and enemies in The Elder Scrolls Online scale in difficulty to your character level. You can typically do zones and quests in any way or order you prefer.

However, many players want to do the ESO quests in proper order. This allows you to get a better grasp of the storyline and avoid breaking immersion as much as possible.

Depending on which faction you pick, zone levels and storyline progression is as follows:

Aldmeri Dominion:

  1. Khenarthi’s Roost
  2. Auridon
  3. Grahtwood
  4. Greenshade
  5. Malabal Tor
  6. Reaper’s March


  1. Stros M’Kai
  2. Betnikh
  3. Glenumbra
  4. Stormhaven
  5. Rivenspire
  6. Alik’r Desert
  7. Bangkorai


  1. Bleakrock Isle
  2. Bal Foyen
  3. Stonefalls
  4. Deshaan
  5. Shadowfen
  6. Eastmarch
  7. The Rift
Map with zone levels

Map of Tamriel with approximate zone levels

Note that character levels no longer matter. The entire game and its difficulty scales to your character level. This means you can do these zones to your heart’s content and you will never be underleveled or overleveled.

Khenarthi’s Roost for Aldmeri, Stros M’Kai and Betnikh for Daggerfall, and Bleakrock Isle and Bal Foyen for Ebonheart are starting areas and can be skipped as well, though they do have (imo) interesting quests and more importantly skyshards for you to pick up, so I’d recommend not skipping those areas. You will get a few extra levels and a couple of skill points early on which will make early leveling in Auridon, Glenumbra or Stonefalls much easier. Faction storylines start at these zones.

After you fully complete one faction’s zones as outlined above, next zone where all three alliances move to is Coldharbour. You will only complete Coldharbour once, meaning after you start playing in other alliances you will not have to complete Coldharbour quests again.

After Coldharbour, it’s recommended to being Cadwell’s Silver quest, which introduces you to the next alliance’s questline. You will always move counter-clockwise on the map, meaning:

  • If you start Ebonheart Pact, you will first go to Daggerfall Covenant and then Aldmeri Dominion areas
  • If you start Daggerfall Covenant, first veteran content is Aldmeri and then Ebonheart Pact
  • And if you start Aldmeri Dominion, next up is Ebonheart Pact followed by Daggerfall

After your second alliance storyline and thus Cadwell’s Silver is complete, you can continue on to Cadwell’s Gold which is the third alliance story line.

After you complete both Cadwell’s Silver and Gold quests, you are expected to move on to Craglorn.

DLC Zones

DLC zones in ESO were released in the following order:

  1. Craglorn (no longer a DLC, meaning it is accessible to all players with no additional cost)
  2. Wrothgar (Orsinium DLC)
  3. Hew’s Bane (Thieves Guild)
  4. Gold Coast (Dark Brotherhood)
  5. Morrowind (Vvardenfell)
  6. Clockwork City
  7. Summerset
  8. Murkmire
  9. Northern Elsweyr (Elsweyr)
  10. Southern Elsweyr (Dragonhold)
  11. Western Skyrim (Greymoor DLC)
  12. The Reach (Markarth DLC)
  13. Blackwood

Alternative leveling methods

Though not my preferred method of leveling, you can also join Cyrodiil, Imperial City or Battlegrounds as soon as you reach level 10. Your character attributes will be scaled giving you roughly similar power level as higher level characters. However, you will still have a lot of trouble killing most other players if you join that soon. Unless you truly enjoy PvP combat with other players, I’d recommend waiting until you are over CP160 with decent gear (at least 5-piece item sets).

Additionally you can gain lots of experience by running dungeons. Don’t neglect the once-a-day large experience boost by running a random normal dungeon. Other activities such as daily crafting quests or event quests also give you character experience.

Despite the game scaling to your level, this stops at level 50. Combat will become significantly easier the more Champion Points (CP) you get. After your character reaches level 50 it will start gaining CP, all the way up to 3600. Each point gives your character a tiny bonus, but these bonuses after a while give your character significant damage and durability boosts.

Related: Leveling and character progression, Leveling Guide.

Published 3263 days ago This entry was posted in Questions and Answers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elder Scrolls Online Zone Levels

  1. Valerie Hesson says:

    I am veteran level 1 nord.
    How do I prompt the last quest to start in the main story line?

  2. admin says:

    This might help: http://www.uesp.net/wiki/Online:Main_Quest

    You’re probably either on God of Schemes quest, or trying to start Cadwell’s Silver (just talk to Cadwell in the Harborage).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>